‹ Return to How tos

Deleting your database in Amazon Lightsail

Last updated: March 15, 2019

Delete your managed database in Amazon Lightsail if you no longer need it. You stop incurring charges for the database as soon as it’s deleted.

Note

You can’t recover a deleted database. You can create a final snapshot of your database as part of the steps covered in this guide, or you can create a snapshot separately from the deletion process. For more information, see Creating a snapshot of your database in Amazon Lightsail.

    To delete your database

  1. Sign in to the Lightsail console.

  2. On the Lightsail home page, choose the Databases tab.

  3. Choose the name of the database that you want to delete.

  4. Choose the Delete tab.

  5. Add a checkmark next to Create snapshot before deletion to create a final snapshot before deleting the database. Then name your snapshot.

  6. Choose Delete database.

  7. Choose Yes, delete to confirm the deletion.

    Creating a database snapshot before deleting a database

    If you opted to create a snapshot before deleting, you can view it on the Snapshots tab of the Lightsail home page.