Detach and delete a block storage disk in Lightsail
Last updated: November 14, 2017
If you no longer need a block storage disk, you can detach it from your stopped Lightsail instance, and then delete it. This topic describes how to back up your data and safely delete a disk.
Stop your instance from running. You have to do this before you can detach and then delete your disk. Learn how to stop your instance
(Optional) We recommend that you create a snapshot of your disk. That way, you have a backup in case you change your mind. Learn how to create a snapshot of your disk
Detach and delete your disk
Once you stop your Lightsail instance, you can safely detach and delete your disk.
On the home page, choose Storage.
Choose the name of your attached disk to manage it.
On the disk management page, choose Detach.
After a few seconds, the disk is detached and ready to be deleted or reattached.
Choose the Delete tab.
Choose Delete disk, and then confirm by choosing Yes, delete.
This is a permanent operation and can't be undone. You will lose all data on the disk when you delete it.